top of page
  • Writer's pictureLuke Kandiah

Week: Forty One


With two weeks left on the course, I dedicated this week to working on finishing my thesis and prepared for the peer-review presentation next week.




Final Write-Up:


This week I designed a theme for the project to make it feel more unified, this theme has extended to my presentation as well. I felt this was especially relevant to my presentation as I animated these images to feel like you're walking through them, this fits perfectly with the subtitle 'navigating' the white cube.






I also did a lot of research working to finish the sections on Incongruous haunting, as there is only a couple weeks left of the project, it was important to have all the main content fully written by this point.


The rotating platform arrived as well as the MP3 player, i am excited to see how these will work in the installation, especially for the rotating platform to animate the sounds in the space, I feel that this would work a lot better in the exhibitory space we have been given.




Unfortunately, due to personal events I was unable to do as much work as I wanted to, however I have a story from this week that adequately embodies my commitment to this project.

Because of reasons I'd rather not explain, I was staying at a friend's house in London, however I awoke in the morning to find out that they had locked me in. This would not have been an issue, if I had not wanted to spend eight hours that day working and if the house had WiFi to facilitate that work. Unfortunately, i felt that i was unable to do any significant work without consistent access to the internet. So, I did the only reasonable thing and climbed out of the second story window.

It was surely the most dramatic thing I had done in a while, however it was important for me to spend that time working on my thesis.



Another thing I did this week was elucidate how each of the haunting boundaries demonstrate an effect on the spectator by writing a summative statement about each:


Silent Haunting - A fear of the unknown haunts the Periphery of our experience.

Incongruous Haunting - Time experienced as broken, haunts the Poise of the spectator.


Acousmatic Haunting - A fear of Displacement haunts the Proximity of the spectator.

Modulated Haunting - Place experienced as broken, haunts the boundary of Presence.


Psychogenic Haunting - Meaningful experiences haunt the boundaries of our Psyche.

Responsive Haunting - A dispreference for tactility haunts our boundaries of Passivity.



Career Progression


This week I found out i did not get on the national detective program or the detective scheme with the London Met. I was excited for these opportunities as they were jobs that would utilise my research skills for positive impact on the world.


I have now applied for an art technician at Eton College and a job as an art handler at the National Gallery in London. For both of these roles I have explained that i intend on applying for PhD programs in the future, in Art History and Visual Culture.

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page